Attractions – History
Milos, one of the most beautiful islands of the Cyclades, is within 86 nautical miles from Piraeus, with an area of 151 square kilometers. The length of the coasts is about 125 km, with rich fractal index. The highest peak is Prophet Elias, with a height of 751 meters. Features of the island are the magnificent bay, which is a natural harbor, and indeed of the largest in the Mediterranean. The population is about 5,000 residents living distributed in eight villages: slate, Triovasalo, Pollonia Zefiria and Adamas, where docked ships of the line.
Administratively Milos was part of Cyclades, and together with the islands Kimolos, Sifnos and Serifos, is the province of Milos.
It is worth to pay a visit the early Christian Catacombs south of the village Tripiti, 150 meters above sea level, on a slope. Was a place of concentration of the early Christians, to celebrate their religion. Is unique in size in Greece and among the most notable, along with those of Rome and Israel worldwide. Constitutes a magnificent Paleochristian monument, determines that Christianity acted marginally, from the 1st century. Three and, with five corridors and a dead cell, are a maze total length of 185 meters. They were all open to but today only the second catacomb.
Plaka is the capital of the island and is characterized by the island architecture. It overlooks the bay of Milos (Adamas) and the surrounding islands.
The plate is located and the Castle of Milos.
Part of the castle, belonging to the family Vouraki for 450 years, has been restored and, with the utmost respect we have developed a complex of five apartments aesthetically decorated with furniture and objects seasons. The view from the traditional wooden balconies and stone pipers, cuts really breathtaking, offering unforgettable and unique sunset.
Walking in the narrow cobbled streets, opposite the Korfiatisssa encounter the Folk Museum, founded in 1967, and those showing the life of Milos from the 17th century onwards. The exhibits include clothing, textiles, photographs etc.
Adamas is a seaside village on a hill. Therein lies the harbor and is inhabited by about 1000 inhabitants. Today is the biggest tourist center of the island, provides everything you need guests to enjoy their holidays. Adamas there are two very good beaches, where one can apolafsῃ swimming and sunbathing. One is the Lagada beach, located 500 meters right to the village center, like staring at the sea, and the other is the beach Papikinou, 1000 meters left, after settlement NEOCHORI. Both have sandy shore and trees. The tongue and unspoiled, are two more beaches, located 7 km from Adamas, with crystal clear waters, white gold sand and colorful rocks. It is worth to pay a visit the two Orthodox churches in the village, the Holy Trinity, which is one of the most important churches of the island on the architecture of the building, which is rare in Greece, Assumption, Mining Museum, which contains exhibits and mineral collection, and the Ecclesiastical Museum. Starting from Adamas towards the Plaka, find two densely populated villages, the Triovasalo, with the church of St. Spyridon and Beyond Triovasalo, with the church of St. George. It still pay a visit the Archaeological Museum, the Church of the Nativity of Mary, the Catholic Church of Our Lady of the Roses, built by Louis Brest in 1823, and the statue of Venus, which is a replica and comes from The workshops of the Louvre Museum.
The area at the top of the hill called Castle and was inhabited during the Dark Ages. Currently uninhabited, but offers spectacular views and a magnificent sunset. Leaving from the plate, will find the village Tripiti with its picturesque windmills. It is worth to pay a visit the Aegean settlements Mantrakia, Firopotamos, Virtue, Fourkovouni and Clement, consisting small fishing harbors. Between the plate and Triovasalo is another small village, the plates, with the church of Agios Charalambos where there is one of the most Wrestling Pictures, Panagia Arkadiotissa. In the northern part of the island, facing the Pollonia meet the Sarakiniko. Is a volcanic formation, or absence of vegetation, combined with the white rocks, gives the impression of a lunar landscape. Found later settlements Mytaka, Agios Konstantinos and Pachaina. Gorgeous is the sand Alogomandra, in Agios Konstantinos. After Pachaina is the picturesque bay of Capri and the Cave of Papafranga. In the open sea cave able to descend stairs and swim in the small sandy beach. In the northeast of Milos, around a beautiful creek, is built Pollonia with the long sandy beaches, trees, white houses, the church of Agia Paraskevi and Agios Nikolaos. From the pier Pollonia there are daily services to Kimolos. From here you can pay a visit Glaronisia, one of the most beautiful creations of nature, which consists of a set of six-sided LITHINO bars, emerging from the sea, creating a picture of unparalleled beauty. In the south of Milos is Zefyria, a small village, located 5 km from Adamas. There stands the church of Panagia Portarianis, whose inhabitants revere every fifteenth of August with a great feast. Shortly after Zefiria nearing St. Sunday, which we admire from above. The Paliochori, with colorful rocks, the rich sandy beach with clear blue waters, will meinῃ memorable. Before we turn to the mat, our left is the beach Tsigrado and our right or Firiplaka, shallow, turquoise waters.
In the southwest of the island, is the area of the garden. From the beautiful beaches of the boat starts for its beaches Elder, thief, falcons and sulfur mines. It is worth to pay a visit the church of Panagia, which is built from the Byzantine years, probably from the 5th century AD After crossing the beach of Elder, we arrive in the historic monastery of St. John Siderianos. The foundation year is unknown, but there are records which mention from 1582. It would be remiss not to mention the beach, traction magnet for lovers of solitude.
Leaving from Saint John is the monastery of Agia Marina, the beautiful beach of Fatourena, the lagoon of Rivari and Empourio. Continuing the way facing the longest beach of the island, the Hivadolimni, owing its name to the lake, close it, and it is full of clams.
Aphrodite of Milos
On April 8, 1820, a resident of Plaka, George Kentrotas, digging his field in the region of ancient, discovers a small cave, covered with earth, and in it, half statue of Aphrodite. Random located near the French officer Olivier Boutier, where, admiring finding, urged villagers to psaxῃ for the remaining half. After a while they’re discovering, and the Boutier, understanding the value of the painting and inform Louis Brest, Vice Consul of France in Milos, to negotiate its purchase. This closes a first agreement with the centrist, and simultaneously notify the ambassador of France in Constantinople, which sends the secretary, Count de Marsellou, to agorasῃ. But when he fthanῃ in Milos, the Kentrotas has already sold it to Nicholas Mourouzi Moldovan prince. Under difficult conditions and after much pressure, Kentrotas finally convinced, and the statue comes at the hands of ambassador, Marquis de Riviere. This gives the King of France, Louis 18th to topothetithῇ later in the Louvre and ginῃ admired million people.
Since then, many studies have been made and many written for the famous masterpiece of art. But the name of the sculptor, the date created the statue, the exact place in virtuousness found if it was complex with God Mars, are some of the questions that seek further reactions.